Producer: Shyam Bajaj (Siddhivinayak Creations)
Director: Anil Devgan
Starring: Suniel Shetty, Ajay Devgan, Priyanka Chopra, Diya Mirza
Music: Himesh Reshammiya
Lyrics: Sameer
Singers: Alka Yagnik, Udit Narayan, Hema Sardesai, Jayesh, Sonu Nigam, Shreya Ghoshal, Shaan
Audio On: T- series
Number of Songs: 8
Released on: December, 2004
Reviewed by: Irfan Makki
Reviewer's Rating: 7 out of 10
Enter your Rating:

Just when you think that you’ve seen enough of Himesh Reshammiya this year already, you get to listen to yet-another film soundtrack that bears his name on it. The year 2004 has already witnessed numerous musical scores by Himesh Reshammiya. Arguably one of the more consistent music composers of today, Himesh has successfully established his own distinct style of music. With him at the helm of affairs, one can safely expect a musical score high on melody and soul. Siddhivinayak Creations’ latest offering Blackmail, starring Ajay Devgan and SunielShetty, has Mr. Reshammiya in charge of the music department. This is the third time Himesh is working with the producer Siddhivinayak Creations after a mediocre score in latter’s Bandhan and the melodious tunes of Kahin Pyaar Na Ho Jaye. Sameer handles the lyrics department this time around instead of Sudhakar Sharma who was associated with the producer’s previous two films. Ironically, this is also the third time the two male protagonists are working together after Dilwaale and Qayamat.

The album kicks off with a sweet and subtle “Akhiyan Lara Jaa”. The ever-dependable Alka gets to sing most of the song while Udit just chips in with a few lines at the end of the song. The tune is nothing spectacular but it still works mainly because Himesh has kept the orchestra rather simple and the overall composition is quite soothing. Although, the lyrics by Sameer are just “kaam chalao”, this song won’t hurt if repeated.

The next track is a variation of Akhiyan Lara Jaa. Though it starts off in fashion quite similar to the original version, the variation comes in the form of tabla beats instead of the bass drum beats used in the original. Himesh nicely differentiate it from the original and moreover, the tabla makes it better than the original itself!

Sameer is at it yet again with “Imli Imli”. A song on the lines of Kambakht Ishq & Ishq Kameena, it has been sung by Hema Sardesai and a rather unknownJayesh. Solely aimed at the frontbenchers, expect this low on lyrics but sensually sung track to be picturized on a hot item girl. Not a filler song by any means, it does remind one of Himesh’s earlier item number “Dilli ki sardi” and is just another of those item numbers that won’t top the charts but still serve the purpose.

Sonu Nigam teams up with Alka for “Jaana Nahi Tha”. Sonu is his usual self but Alka sounds disinterested and gets annoyingly shrill at times. Strangely the song has been named “Jaana Nahi Tha” whereas it would have made much more sense to name it “Maine Dil Tumhein De Diya” as these words appear more often than the title of the song. Coming across more as a Nadeem-Sharavan composition, the song sounds nice and picks up well after the initial interlude is over. The tune is nothing new yet it works as an above average composition that could make for repetitive listening.

How can there not be an instrumental in an album these days?? “Jaana Nahi Tha” instrumental comes up next which is just a straight instrumental without the voices of the singers. Himesh should have added a bit of variation to this one.

Next up is another typical Himesh number called “Kaun Kehta Hai”. Shreya Ghoshal takes over from Alka in this one and Udit reappears as the male voice. Sameer’s lyrics are nothing to write home about and so are vocals but it’s the composition that holds the song together. What initially starts off as a run-of-the-mill romantic song takes a pleasant turn with Shreya singing “Saawan bhi aaya re, baadal bhi chaaya re” to heavy drums in the background. Yet another number on the album that one won’t mind rewinding. Himesh successfully maintains the consistency of the album so far.

If you ever wondered how the title track from Abbas Mustaan’s Humraaz, would sound when mixed with “Har kisi ko nahi miltayahan pyaar zindagi mein” from Firoz Khan’sJaanbaaz, listen to “Tune Di Beqarari”. Himesh seems heavily inspired by Kalyanji-Anandji’s tune from Jaanbaaz as he lifts it completely and meshes it with his own “Sanam Mere Humraaz” from the Bobby-Akshaye starrer. Beginning with a nice violin piece, it gathers momentum with Shaan doing most of the singing with Shreya lending support. To his credit, the music director successfully blends the two songs but Sameer could have surely done better with the lyrics. It would have been much better had the makers labeled this one as a tribute to the legendary duo of Kalyanji-Anandji. This way, Himesh would have escaped the accusation of lifting a past hit and would also have pleased the composers of the original classic.

Next up is the mandatory sad version of “Tune Di Beqarari”. It really is a “sad” song as it falls flat and the supposedly sad lyrics don’t leave any impact whatsoever. I guess the makers loved it so much that they decided to repeat it not once, not twice but thrice! The only song on the entire album that deserves to be skipped!

On the whole, Blackmail, is a pretty consistent album with no chart bursting number but no awfully bad tunes either. An above-average album with a couple of good tunes, it could do well for itself if publicized properly. Himesh doesn’t disappoint but he’s done better in the past. Listen to it with no expectations and you will be quite pleased with the outcome.