Planet Bollywood
Ravi Iyer of Para Vayu Composes for “The Dance of Death"
- Special Correspondent           Let us know what you think about this story

After wrapping up on the title track of “Super K,” critically acclaimed guitarist-composer Ravi Iyer has composed the score for Los Angeles based screenwriter-director Amanda Sodhi’s film “The Dance of Death.” The film explores a young Indian woman’s awakening when her domineering husband’s sudden death brings happiness and freedom into her life.

“It was a pleasure working on the music with Amanda Sodhi for her film ‘The Dance Of Death,’” said Ravi Iyer. “A great film indeed, and I wish her success with this film in the future. Working on a short film was definitely exciting and challenging at the same time as the message to get across has to be achieved in a shorter time frame. So working on the theme music to substantiate the story line was really interesting for me to work upon. Unlike a feature film where you have ample time and space to play around with the music, in case of a short film one needs to be tight and precise in putting across the message of the film.” Iyer is in the process of releasing his solo fusion album with his project titled VRavi-Guitar Fusion.

“’The Dance of Death’ marks my debut as a director, so the film is very dear to me,” said Amanda Sodhi. “The film has very few dialogues and Ravi’s score along with Damian Parada’s sound mixing and sound design has really breathed life to the film.” Sodhi previously co-wrote award-winning filmmaker Rohit Gupta’s feature film “Life! Camera Action…” for which she shared a nomination in the “Best Screenplay” category with him at the World Music & Independent Film Festival this year.

“The Dance of Death” features many critically acclaimed Los Angeles based actors including Puja Mohindra (“Happy Feet 2,” “Indian Fish in American Waters,” “Foreign,” “Silhouettes,“ “CSI: Miami”), Rahul Nath (“Compromise,” “Nischay Kar Apni Jeet Karoon,” “Hotel Hollywood,” “Provoked,” “Naina”; Ad films for Virgin America, State Farm Insurance, Nintendo, Intel), Shruti Tewari (“Love Aaj Kal”), Samira Saha (“Hotel Hollywood”), Thomas Tevana (“Dostana,” “Jo Bole So Nihaal,” “Khushboo,” “JAG,” “One Life to Live”), Paul Singh, Laikh Tewari and Sitara Attaie. The films’ crew includes Arani Sen (“Til Death Do Us Part,” “6 Women”) as the director of photography, Mark Thomas Lickona (“Chaotic,” “Alphonse”) as the editor, and Damian Parada (“Horton Hears a Who!”) as the sound mixer, sound editor and sound designer.

Latest News »
 • Anuradha Paudwal receives the Maharashtra Gaurav Puraskar
 • Prakash Jha confirms directing biopic on mathematician Dr Vashishtha Narayan Singh
 • Call For Entries: Bay Area South Asian Film Festival 2018 San Francisco
 • Sony Music acquires the music rights to Kizie Aur Manny
 • Aditya Datt remembers grandfather Anand Bakshi on his birth anniversary with a heart-warming tweet
More News ...

Comments Contact Us Advertise Terms of Service Privacy Policy
Copyright © Planet Bollywood - All Rights Reserved