Planet Bollywood
Producer: Mandeep Singh/ Cutting Edge Entertainment
Director: Vikram Bhatt
Starring: Amitabh Bachchan, John Abraham, Bipasha Basu, Supriya Pilgaonkar, Pramod Moutho, Tom Alter, Shruti Ulfat, Ali Asgar
Music: Rajesh Roshan
Lyrics: Nasir Faraaz, Ibrahim Ashq, Chandrashekhar Rajit,
Singers: Kumar Sanu, Sujata Bhattacharya, Udit Narayan, Sunidhi Chauhan, Sonu Nigam, Shreya Ghoshal, Abhijeet, Alka Yagnik, Babul Supriya, Shweta Pandit and Amitabh Bachchan
Audio On: Sony Music    Number of Songs: 7
Album Released on: 06 November 2003
Reviewed by: Aakash Gandhi  - Rating: 4.5 / 10
Let us know what you think about this review
Movie Review
Public Rating Average: 5.11 / 10 (rated by 410 listeners)
Give your Rating:

Vikram Bhatt's reputation as a successful director has been tarnished by the failure of his last two releases Footpath

and Inteha. Can Bipasha Basu, who starred in Vikram Bhatt directed Raaz help him regain his position?  Aetbaar has Bipasha Basu, John Abraham, and Amitabh Bachchan

in lead roles and music by Rajesh Roshan. Rajesh Roshan gives us an out and out romantic album here. What stands out right away is that Roshan uses eleven different singers and five different lyricists! Now whether that works to his advantage, we’ll just have to see…

The album opens up with the romantic “Tum Mujhe Bas Yuh Hi” sung by Kumar Sanu and Sujata Bhattacharya. Roshan starts the track off with a pleasant fusion of piano, guitar, and percussion, but goes down hill from there. Both, Kumar Sanu’s and Sujata’s, renditions are sub-par. The composition is decent but nothing to get excited about. In many cases, the lyrics seem to be the saving grace of such a song. Unfortunately, Nasir Faraaz isn’t able to save this one with his conventional hackneyed lyrics. Final verdict: Boring!

Chodo Chodo” is the second track of the album. No doubt this song belongs to Sunidhi Chauhan all the way. With Sunidhi Chauhan back to her playful voice, and with Udit Narayan lending his support, this number could have gone a long way, but falls short. The reason why this song couldn’t reach its full potential was partly due to Roshan’s harmonic background. Creating a playful melody in the foreground, Roshan went the other way while composing the harmonic background, which was more of the sober/melodramatic composition. This song is good for time pass.

Looks like we have our first winner with “Saanse Ghulne Lagi” sung by Sonu Nigam and Shreya Ghoshal, who have recently been heard together in Yun Hi Hum Tumse from Khakee. This is a purely romantic number. Although this may not live up to the likes of Jaadu Hai Nasha Hai or Har Taraf, Shreya lends us her soothing voice, which is just pure beauty for the ears. Finally, Rajesh Roshan shows us his talent and skill by composing a beautiful piece. With the ornamentation of the wind effect, Roshan flawlessly creates a genuine fairy-tale number. The perfect blend of Sonu Nigam’s silky smooth voice, Shreya’s bewitching rendition, Roshan’s unblemished composition, and Chandrashekhar Rajit’s truly heart warming lyrics leave the listener mesmerized and his heart yearning for more.

Next we come to the title track, “Aetbaar.” This fast-paced romantic number is rendered by Abhijeet and Alka Yagnik. This is one of those songs that will either be fully accepted or fully rejected by the masses. One thing is for sure, Roshan’s fast tempo rhythm will have you tapping your feet the second you listen to it. The song is penned by Dev Kohli who does full justice to the song. Let’s just hope that this title track has half the success that his last one did (Koi Mil Gaya).

Roshan picks up the tempo once again in “Na Nazaaron Ka,” sung by Babul Supriyo and Shweta Pandit. Roshan uses some samba beats in this quick paced piece. Babul Supriyo is one of the more under-rated singers in Bollywood and proves once again why he has been in the singing business for so long. Shweta is able to deliver as well. This one is penned by Maya Govind who doesn’t do a great job, but succeeds. You’ll have to let this one grow on you for some time, and then slowly but surely you’ll be pushing that repeat button.

Next in line we have “Jeena Hai Kis Liye.” It’s almost certain that this number will be whole-heartedly accepted by the Indian masses due to the sole fact that it is sung by Mr. Amitabh Bachchan himself. Looks like Amitabh is starting to carve a place for himself in the music industry by singing many of his own songs, and he’s pretty good at it too! Singing four songs in the current hit 

Baghban, Big AB is heard here singing the words of Chandrashekhar Rajit. Although he does a fairly decent jobs in rendering this piece, it is no where near the heights of Meri Makhana, Mein Yaha Tu Wahan, or Chali Chali. With the voice of Bachchan singing to the techno beats of Roshan, this piece makes for an under average composition.

The last piece on the soundtrack is "The Feel of Aetbaar.” This instrumental really has nothing to offer.

All in all, Aetbaar has only one good song (Saanse Ghulne Lagi), and the rest range from poor to average. It looks like Rajesh Roshan’s decision to use a variety of singers didn’t work for him. But he must be commended on trying. For most of the music directors today have there selected favorites and repeatedly use them. As for the lyricists; It seems a lyricist needs to carve a niche for himself/herself inside the soundtrack. It’s necessary for him/her to get a feel for the kind of words that would go with the composer’s music, in this case, romantic. It’s kind of difficult to do that when you have five different lyricists for six different songs. Let’s just hope that the music is not of any hint to the type of film Aetbaar will turn out to be, and let’s just hope that John Abraham and Bipasha Basu can come up with another hit of their own.

Comments Contact Us Advertise Terms of Service Privacy Policy
Copyright © Planet Bollywood - All Rights Reserved