Planet Bollywood
No Entry
Producer: Sahara One, Boney Kapoor & Sri Devi Kapoor
Director: Anees Bazmee
Starring: Anil Kapoor, Salman Khan, Fardeen Khan, Lara Dutta, Bipasha Basu, Celina Jaitley, Esha Deol and Boman Irani
Music: Anu Malik
Lyrics: Sameer
Singers: Sonu Nigam, Alisha Chinai,Sunidhi Chauhan, K.K., Vasundhra Das, Kumar Sanu, Udit Narayan, Alka Yagnik
Audio On: Tips    Number of Songs: 8
Album Released on: June 2005
Reviewed by: Irfan Makki  - Rating: 5.0 / 10
Let us know what you think about this review
Movie Review
Public Rating Average: 5.11 / 10 (rated by 410 listeners)
Give your Rating:

Its raining Salman Khan at the box office. With his home production, Maine Pyaar Kyun Kiya, ready for a July release, his fans will see him in Anees Bazmee’s “No Entry” alongside Anil Kapoor, Fardeen Khan, Celina Jaitley, Lara Dutta, Bipasha Basu and Esha Deol in a guest appearance. Directed by Anees Bazmee and produced by

Boney Kapoor, No Entry had been in the making for almost two years. Surprisingly, a film with such a huge cast, No Entry has been given a very low-key publicity so far. In fact, the promos initially hit the screen almost four months ago and then suddenly disappeared only to resurface just recently. And what concerns me even more is that Salman is said to have a mere extended guest appearance in the movie and yet the makes are promoting as if he has a full-fledge role in it. This could backfire just as in the case of Phir Milenge where hard-core Salman fans felt cheated by the makers for promoting it as a Salman Khan movie. Let’s hope that is not the case with No Entry. Speaking of music in his films, Anees has so far been inconsistent with his previous films. While Pyaar To Hona Hi Tha had a marvelous musical score by Jatin-Lalit, Deewangi’s music disappointed no end. So does Anees manage to make his music director work extra hard this time around to pull out a winner? Lets analyze Anu Malik’s musical score for No Entry…

The album opens up with the title track, “No Entry”. When Sonu Nigam and Alisha Chinai team up for a song, one expects fireworks and Anu Malik doesn’t disappoint the listener one bit as the song carries enough firepower to rock the charts. A snazzy and upbeat song, it catches the listener’s attention from the word “go”. Picturized on Salman, Anil and Bipasha, the track promises to be equally effective on the Big Screen as well. So sit back, turn up the volume and enjoy this fun-filled number.

Brace yourself for yet another English titled song, “Just Love Me”. Seems like the lyricists have run out of Hindi lines as they are resorting to using English lines in the songs more often. The song has been picturized on Salman Khan who reprises his super-stud act and the lyrics too have been written keeping his character in mind. Recently, there was news about Anu Malik not being favored by Salman Khan. Going through this song one can easily understand why Salman prefers other music directors for his films. Anu Malik lets everyone down and clearly his claims for coming up with great numbers for Salman seem false. He should have made the most out of this one opportunity to impress Salman but he blew it! Sigh..

Ishq Mein comes up next. Kay Kay tries to spice it up with Alisha this time around. But the song gives one the feeling of “been there, heard that”. Another routine track with routine lyrics,

Ishq Mein may well end up on your skip list.

Why Why” is served up next. A raunchy number sung ably by Alisha, it would most probably feature Bipasha as the seductress trying to trap one of the men with her charm. Some fun lyrics and sensual vocals make this one the second best track on the album following the title track.

When a song is titled “Hot Hot” especially when Sameer is writing the lyrics, it’s safe to expect a stupid song. And that’s exactly what you get - A sorry excuse of a song. When the lyrics go something like “Kalyug ki laila hain hum, kyun humko aaye sharam?”, you know you’re in for a nightmare.

Kumar Sanu and Udit Narayan come together after a long time for “Kahan Ho Tum”. Having two of the most experienced singers at his disposal, one would expect Anu Malik to formulate atleast a decent composition if not a classic. But Mr. Malik is once again found guilty of spoiling another golden opportunity of salvaging this album. At best, Kahan Ho Tum is just an average number (I am being generous here!). No wonder Himesh Reshammiya has displaced Anu and has slowly captured the crown of being Bollywood’s best composer after A.R. Rahman. Songs like this don’t help any music director and Anu should lift his game up.

Dil Pagal Hai” brings Kumar Sanu, Kay Kay and Alka Yagnik together. An OK composition, this one manages to sound a tad better than most of the tracks on the album and the energetic singing raises it up to the above average level. It’s such a pity to see Kumar Sanu being reduced to singing such mediocre compositions these days. A singer of his caliber deserves a lot better than such routine tracks. Hopefully, we’ll get to hear more of Sanu in the days to follow and that too in some quality tracks.

The album rounds up with “Mere Jaisa Koi Nahin”. Alisha Chinai makes yet another appearance on the soundtrack in this awfully written and composed song. The least said about this number the better! A complete waste of talent, time and producer’s money!

On the whole, No Entry is yet another blow to Anu Malik’s sagging reputation. The man who used to rule the music charts at one point in his career has been churning out absolute trash for quite some time now. Reserving his best only for the Bhatt camp, Anu has developed this strange habit of disappointing even more when the project involves big names (Main Prem Ki Diwani Hoon, Yaadein, Fida, Khushi, Kya Kool Hain Hum are a few examples). And what’s even more surprising is the fact that the makers let him get away with it. A total crime of an album, No Entry is disappointment of the highest order and barring the title track, doesn’t have even one single track that could actually motivate music lovers to consider buying it. Shame on you Mr. Malik!

Comments Contact Us Advertise Terms of Service Privacy Policy
Copyright © Planet Bollywood - All Rights Reserved