Planet Bollywood
Producer: Tess Mirza
Director: Sharukh Mirza
Starring: Rehan Khan, Anjana Sukhani, Rajeev Varma, Rajesh Khanna, Zeenat Aman
Music: Anand-Milind, Abbas Jelani, Rajendra Shiv, Pramod Tripathi, Guru Sharma, Hanif
Lyrics: Moied, Sharukh Sultan, V.K.Rawal
Singers: Shaan, Shreya Ghoshal, Naureen, Kailash Kher, Padmini
Audio On: Saregama-HMV    Number of Songs: 6
Album Released on: 03 May 2006
Reviewed by: Gianysh Toolsee  - Rating: 7.0 / 10
Let us know what you think about this review
Public Rating Average: 5.11 / 10 (rated by 410 listeners)
Give your Rating:

With six music directors handling the soundtrack of ‘Jaana- Let’s Fall in Love’, there needs to be a reason for choosing each one of them. Producer Tess Mirza definitely wants a soundtrack which will work for the movie and he gives the chance to some new names as well. With unknown names in the cast, except for Rajesh Khanna and Zeenat Amat, it’s now the turn of the composers to provide publicity for this movie by their compositions. There are only five songs and one remix.

Rarely we do have music composers who make a good use of the piano as the opening of a song. The piano is becoming rare in preludes. Yet, the piano rhythms with romance, emotion, love and affection. Add to that, the violin, the guitar and a mushy chorus, you have the best recipe for a lasting love song. This is what Abbas Jelani has done. Shaan and Shreya Ghoshal are the best voices to give form to his rich composition. ‘Jaana – Let’s Fall in Love’ ranks among these intense romantic numbers. However, this one relies on simplicity and the sounds of love. These sounds of love are created with the right notes on the right instruments. The guitar has been romantically used in the interludes and in the background. There are gentle beats on the tabla. The arrangement is melodramatic. Shaan’s voice is fresh and he goes through the lines, like he is roaming in a Swiss forest in autumn and singing at the same time.

"Dheere Dheere Hawa Chal Rahi Hai.   Jaise Koi Ghazal Ban Rahi Hai.   Chupke Chupke Nazar Mil Rahi Hai.   Jhukte Uthte Palak Yeh Keh Rahi Hai" 

Shreya Ghoshal adds her innocence where needed. The music is somewhere in between Sandesh Shandilya and Jatin-Lalit. Being one of the main song of the album, one of the interludes is the signature tune which will be present in most of the other numbers. ‘This is the way I feel about you’ is repeated by the chorus and is translated into a small acoustic guitar piece which is pleasant. Lyrically speaking, Sharukh Sultan is at par with the best in the business currently. When a tune is rich in melody, you don’t need music softwares to create a good song. Abbas Jelani is indeed talented and it shows! You can feel the creativity in the tune itself.

The comforting melodic lines continue in the exquisite antra;

"Khaamoshiyaan Hain Khaamoshiyaan Bhi.   Keh Rahi Daastaan Hain.   Dil Dil Ki Baaten.   Dil Dil Hi Jaane.   Dil Ki Alag Hi Zubaan Hai" 

The remix by Hanif is passable and does not destroy the overwhelming tune.

With such a good first track, expectations have automatically augmented for the next track. Expect something fresh this time around with brothers Anand and Milind. ‘Jaana – Ek Kahaani Suni’ continues in the same romantic spree. The same guitar sound is played again while Shaan maintains the same freshness. It can be described as the part two of the first track. Isn’t it hard to believe that it is in fact Anand-Milind the composers? Even though their compositions are quite 90’s, this one isn’t at all. Shaan again croons ‘This is the way I feel about you’. Solo Shaan is effortless in this light number which depends heavily on the acoustic guitar. The only minus point is the poor lyrics by Sharukh Sultan. When you have words like pizza and coffee in the stanzas, one needs to ask where did the lyricist get his inspiration? By now, there is no doubt that the hero in the movie has a guitar.

2006 announces to be a very moving year for Kailash Kher. After his superb album, he is receiving tailor made songs by the current crop of music composers. Rajendra Shiv composes something original. In fact, his style is very unusual. Written by Moied, ‘Kalma Kalma’ is the surprise. Though Kailash is at his usual best, it’s the composition which gets most of the marks. The music director succeeds in incorporating the guitar sounds and the signature tune in this ‘Allah Ke Bandhe’ type of song. Do not expect a heavy number! The way the song takes shape is interesting. The background music revolves on spirituality. With a decent chorus, the instruments used vary from the tabla to the flute. The lyricist amalgamates Urdu poetry with hard hitting realistic words. The final product is worth it.

There is no better way to say ‘Yes I Love You’ in a whispering mode to your lover. Shaan is heard in a deep romantic state where he sings with passion. He is so at ease that you will not say that he is singing. In fact, he goes into the character and renders the lines from his heart. Is he mad in love? You might believe it if you listen to the following lines;

"MausamBeimaan Sard Aahen Beimaan.   Karta Hai Dil Yeh Roko Na Haa.   Dhadkanon Mein Palti Aarzoo Machalti.   Mehak Jaane Do Yeh Pyar Ka Jahaan" 

As for Naureen, she plays the perfect lover behind the mike. Innocently, the words ‘This is the way I feel about you’ are uttered once again. The rendition is affectionate. Her parts are in English and they sound very inspired. The guitar have been used at selected places to give the song this ‘love’ touch. Pramod Tripathi’s composition is up to the mark. This is what is needed in film music; intense rhythmic music displayed with few instruments and an efficient chorus. Though his style is not new, he manages well with the orchestration and tune. Both singers get the scope to display emotions and Shaan excels in this area. Kudos Shaan! Lyrics by V.K.Rawal are very good as well.

After a series of original numbers, Guru Sharma comes as the cunning plagiarist! He can’t call himself as music director as he lifts blatantly this Latino ‘Ola Ola’ number. It’s a direct lift from a Modern Talking hit in 2000. The number is ‘No Face No Name No Number’ from the album ‘Year of the Dragon’. Guru Sharma should be ashamed! Copy and paste has never been so easy. The beats, the guitar sound and the first interlude are left the same like in the original. He even kept the same trademark style of this German band. Sharukh Sultan’s lyrics are average. Shaan is simply wasted and Padmini is lost in the chorus. ‘Ola Ola’ is a disaster all way! Oooulalalah!

This soundtrack invites you on a romantic excursion through a music of gentle beats, captivating piano notes, heaven feel orchestration and the soothing voice of Shaan. Falling in love is hard but here, it becomes easy. You do fall in love with the soundtrack, only if you have something for romantic numbers with guitar influences. Although six different music directors have been signed, it is hard to distinguish. This is where lies the winning formula! The design of most of their compositions are similar implying continuity. The signature tune and guitar sounds are used in the same way in all their compositions. The emotive vocals of Shaan and also Shreya Ghoshal are used to the maximum. Only Guru Sharma did a villainous act! A small useful advice to him will be to stick to remixing only. Touching score for lovers!

Comments Contact Us Advertise Terms of Service Privacy Policy
Copyright © Planet Bollywood - All Rights Reserved