Planet Bollywood
Producer: Bhushan Kumar, Kishan Kumar, Homi Adajania and Dinesh Vijan
Director: Dinesh Vijan
Starring: Sushant Singh Rajput, Kriti Sanon, Jim Sarbh and Varun Sharma
Music: JAM 8 and Sohrabuddin
Lyrics: Amitabh Bhattacharya, Irshad Kamil, Kumaar and Jitendra Raghuvanshi
Singers: Arijit Singh, Nikita Gandhi, Jubin Nautiyal, Atif Aslam, Neha Kakkar, Meet Bros, Diljit Dosanjh and Pardeep Singh Sran
Audio On: T-Series    Number of Songs: 7
Album Released on: 03 June 2017
Reviewed by: Anish Mohanty  - Rating: 8.0 / 10
Let us know what you think about this review
Movie Review
Public Rating Average: 3.13 / 10 (rated by 8 listeners)
Give your Rating:

Till a couple of weeks back, Pritam's name was seen on the posters and other promotional material of Raabta. The makers decided to incorporate a promotional track by another composer and Pritam decided to withdraw his name from the film. The composer, in an official statement, stated clearly that he wishes to be a part of projects which he is the solo composer in. The songs (all, barring one) have now been credited to JAM8, Pritam's A&R company.

"Ik Vaari Aa" can be easily categorised as a 'happy separation song', which is how the marketing team of the film chooses to describe it as. While the easy-on-the-lips words penned by Amitabh Bhattacharya encapsulate Shiv (Sushant Singh Rajput) and Saira's (Kriti Sanon) longing, Pritam's composition has a bouncy and vibrant appeal accentuated by an EDM based sound. Pritam/JAM8, Amitabh and Arijit Singh bring out the emotions in the song and at the same time, do not let the vibrancy of this catchy track fade away.

Another version of the song, sung by Jubin Nautiyal, adds tremendous value to the album and is just not an alternative version put in to accommodate another singer or to fill the album with another song. The orchestral arrangements in this version help in bringing out the EDM feel in the track to the fore. Jubin makes suitable variations in the composition by the way he sings it. Amitabh Bhattacharya, on his part, rewrites a few lines towards the end of the song.

Unlike the original song (there were four version of it in the film) from 'Agent Vinod', "Raabta" track despite borrowing a part of the tune and lyrics from the original track, has a lounge-ish feel to it. Before Arijit's voice is heard in the second half, debutante Nikita Gandhi gives a good account of herself and sings it with the right amount of sensuousness that would complement Deepika Padukone's simmering moves in the video.

As the soundscape moves from Budapest to Delhi, one gets to hear a Bhangra infused track called "Sadda Move". Diljit Dosanjh and Pardeep Singh Sran spirited rendition works very well for this high on energy track. The track will not only please fans of the genre (Bhangra), the nicely composed tune will appeal to the discerning listener as well. Amitabh Bhattacharya's lines ("bhangra ke rhythm mein tune bharatnatyam kyon milaaya") add to the novelty factor.

The tune and the orchestral arrangement used in "Lambiyaan Sa Judaaiyan" end up reminding one of Himesh Reshammiya's school of music. But, there is a lot of Pritam here as well. Arijit Singh brings in a certain amount of this beautifully composed track laden with pathos. Pritam adds just a bit of contemporary arrangements in the song which largely has a qawalli-sque sound to it. The qawalli-like structure of the song is more prominent in the final portions of the song which remind one of the last bit of "Channa Mereya" ('Ae Dil Hai Mushkil').

Though "Main Tera Boyfriend", the promotional track, has been in the news for all the wrongs reasons (Pritam's dissociation with the film, a legal battle over the song), the makers can rejoice about the fact that this song will definitely give a push commercially. The song, which happens to be a recreated version of a popular non-film song, boasts of an extremely catchy tune (Sohrabuddin) and has some whacky and fun lyrics to compliment it. It turns out to be one of those dance numbers you can play on a loop and dance for hours at a stretch.

After a heady dance number, comes the most solemn love song of the album. The dreamy vibe of the song is accentuated by Atif Aslam's subliminal voice. After Atif being free from a contract that forbade him singing from record labels apart from the one he was signed with, T-Series seem to be happy accommodating the singer on several non-film songs and film soundtracks. The cushy tune moves along smoothly with Irshad Kamil's simple and free-flowing verses.

'Raabta' is producer Dinesh Vijan's first film as a director. Vijan and Pritam's collaboration in the past had resulted in popular albums like 'Love Aaj Kal', 'Agent Vinod' and 'Cocktail'. While one empathizes with Pritam and understand the reasons behind him taking a firm stand, it is unfortunate that Pritam had to discredit himself from a soundtrack which is one of his best in the recent times.

Comments Contact Us Advertise Terms of Service Privacy Policy
Copyright © Planet Bollywood - All Rights Reserved